• Harnett County Schools' Gifted Program, Career and Technical Education Department, Technology Department, and Campbell University’s School of Engineering piloted a FIRST LEGO League (FLL) at three of Harnett County’s elementary schools. Boone Trail, Buies Creek, and Erwin Elementary Schools were each chosen to host a FIRST LEGO League team for the 2016-2017 school year. 

    Since that time, Harnett County Schools' Gifted Program added sixteen more teams!  Currently, Harnett County Schools sponsors nineteen teams throughout the district.  

Teams are asked to research a real-world problem and develop a solution. They must also build, design, and program a LEGO Mindstorms robot and compete in a regional competition. This collaboration began in an effort to provide more Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) opportunities at and earlier age as well as promote the continued development of higher ordered thinking skills for our AIG population.

    Harnett County First Lego League Teams



    Angier Elementary School - Master Builders

    Benhaven Elementary School - Bulldog Builders

    Boone Trail Elementary School - Bioneers

    Buies Creek Elementary School - Knightbots

    Coats Elementary School - JacketBots

    Coats-Erwin Middle School - Falcons

    Dunn Middle School - Greenwaves

    Erwin Elementary School - Transformers

    Harnett Central Middle School - Robo Raiders

    Highland Elementary School - Pirates

    Highland Middle School - Vikings

    Johnsonville Elementary School - Robotic Eaglets

    LaFayette Elementary School - Soaring Swag Bots

    Lillington Shawtown Elementary School - Cougar Bots

    Overhills Elementary School - Lynx

    Overhills Middle School - Panthers

    South Harnett Elementary School - Patriots

    Wayne Avenue Elementary School - Bulldogs

    Western Harnett Middle School - Cardinals