•  6-8 Middle School
    Harnett County Schools continues to serve middle grades students using the same collaborative model used at the elementary level-- with a little variation. In grades 6-8, students are cluster grouped according to their area of identification (Reading, Math, or Both Areas). In addition to being served in their cluster groups, the middle schools provide at least one honors-type class where they receive AIG services that are specifically designed to challenge them and stretch their learning experiences. The work is more rigorous. The pace a little faster. The expectations higher.
    The opportunities for middle grades students to grow intellectually, socially, and emotionally may include the following (Check with your child's school for specific opportunities at their site):
    • Literature Circles
    • Academic Competitions (ex. Battle of the Books, First Lego League Robotics, Mathcounts, Science Olympiad, Science Fair, Writing Contests)
    • Service Learning Projects
    • Independent Projects
    • On-line Foreign Language Courses (Ask school counselor when planning schedules.)
    • Leadership Organizations
    • Duke TIP Program (Ask 7th Grade Counselor for information.)
    • School Clubs