Secondary Education Resources

  • Chip Mangum
    Chip Mangum
    Director - Grades 9-12


    Secondary Education
    Harnett County Schools' Secondary Education includes grades nine through twelve. The department is committed to providing quality instructional so students can be ready for College and Career when they graduate from one of our high schools. In our district, we strive to provide rigorous and relevant instruction aligned to local, state, and national standards.

    Harnett County's high schools are comprised of 4 comprehensive high schools, one early college, and an alternative school serving grades 9-12.    The high schools are Harnett Central High School, Overhills High School, Triton High School, Western Harnett High School, Harnett County Early College, and the Harnett County Alternative School (STAR Academy).  Each school is nationally accredited by AdvancEd now Cognia.

    The high schools follow the 90-minute block schedule. Students take four courses each semester for a total of eight courses per year. Students are able to complete a variety of electives in areas that interest them or pursue electives in a more specialized area.